Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Cool Hand Luke's Grill

Cool Hand Luke's Grill franchise — is it worth it?

Full-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk

Cool Hand Luke's Grill and Steakhouse/Saloon is a full-service restaurant concept requiring an initial investment between $422,000 and $1,914,500.

Everything below is free, read straight off Cool Hand Luke's Grill's registered filing, with where the numbers land against full-service restaurant peers. Weighing Cool Hand Luke's Grill against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$422,000 – $1,914,500
Below the full-service restaurant median · median $1,392,100
Initial franchise fee
$50,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed

Figures above are as disclosed in Cool Hand Luke's Grill's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-31254 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Cool Hand Luke's Grill? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Cool Hand Luke's Grill will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Cool Hand Luke's Grill franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Cool Hand Luke's Grill does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Cool Hand Luke's Grill — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (54% of full-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Cool Hand Luke's Grill's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Full-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Cool Hand Luke's Grill lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Cool Hand Luke's Grill's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Cool Hand Luke's Grill closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Cool Hand Luke's Grill will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Cool Hand Luke's Grill's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a full-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Cool Hand Luke's Grill's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Cool Hand Luke's Grill?

Cool Hand Luke's Grill's franchise is offered by Heritage Restaurant Brands, LP (Cool Hand Luke's Steakhouse Saloon) — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Full-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Cool Hand Luke's Grill is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Country Waffles$311,800 – $808,600Shuckin' Shack$500,000 – $1,500,000 · Item 19 disclosedLumberjacks Restaurants$595,900 – $1,535,050The Original Pancake House$482,500 – $1,666,250Taffer's Tavern$812,000 – $1,351,000 · Item 19 disclosedBarrel House$680,000 – $1,662,000 · Item 19 disclosedMax's of Manila$729,000 – $1,840,000Keke's Breakfast Cafe$638,425 – $1,938,813 · Item 19 disclosedAnother Broken Egg Cafe$792,500 – $1,804,000 · Item 19 disclosedCalifornia Pizza Kitchen$1,582,000 – $5,377,500Chili's$4,231,695 – $6,515,695Cowboy Jack'sinvestment not disclosed

Cool Hand Luke's Grill franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Cool Hand Luke's Grill — who is the franchisor?

Cool Hand Luke's Grill's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Heritage Restaurant Brands, LP (Cool Hand Luke's Steakhouse Saloon) as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Cool Hand Luke's Grill franchise cost?

Cool Hand Luke's Grill's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $422,000 – $1,914,500, with an initial franchise fee of $50,000 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against full-service restaurant peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $1,392,100).

How much profit does a Cool Hand Luke's Grill franchise make?

Cool Hand Luke's Grill makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Cool Hand Luke's Grill at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Cool Hand Luke's Grill disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Cool Hand Luke's Grill's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 54% of full-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Cool Hand Luke's Grill?

No — Cool Hand Luke's Grill's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Cool Hand Luke's Grill a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Cool Hand Luke's Grill's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against full-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Cool Hand Luke's Grill?

Get a free email when something changes on Cool Hand Luke's Grill or full-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.