Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → SureStay by Best Western®

SureStay by Best Western® franchise — is it worth it?

Travel & hospitality · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

High risk Shrinking network

SureStay by Best Western is a hotel franchise opportunity requiring a substantial investment of $5.3M to $8.2M.

Everything below is free, read straight off SureStay by Best Western®'s registered filing, with where the numbers land against travel & hospitality peers. Weighing SureStay by Best Western® against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$5,354,975 – $8,265,975
Above the travel & hospitality median · median $3,332,700
Initial franchise fee
$35,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
4%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
8 cases
in Item 3
Closure rate
2.7%
travel & hospitality median 4.1%
Outlet network
218 units
-4 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in SureStay by Best Western®'s most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640281 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering SureStay by Best Western®? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. SureStay by Best Western® will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

SureStay by Best Western® franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: SureStay by Best Western® does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for SureStay by Best Western® — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn SureStay by Best Western®'s FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Hotel, travel & hospitality franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

SureStay by Best Western® lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

SureStay by Best Western®'s most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose 8 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against SureStay by Best Western® itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 8 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

SureStay by Best Western® closures & failure rate

Before you sign, SureStay by Best Western® will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what SureStay by Best Western®'s most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a travel & hospitality of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. SureStay by Best Western®'s latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 2.7%, against a travel & hospitality median of 4.1% — at or better than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -4 to 218 in the latest reported year.

Who owns SureStay by Best Western®?

SureStay by Best Western®'s franchise is offered by SureStay, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

SureStay Collection by Best Western®same franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Travel & hospitality franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing SureStay by Best Western® is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Staybridge Suites$35,000 – $38,000 · Item 19 disclosedBW Premier Collection;$442,540 – $6,890,025Guesthouse$573,945 – $7,331,895Spark by Hilton$3,251,531 – $5,906,193G6 Hospitality$200,000 – $9,700,000 · Item 19 disclosedBest Western;$581,925 – $12,658,075KOA$459,500 – $13,894,250 · Item 19 disclosedRed Roof Inn$7,253,500 – $8,899,600 · Item 19 disclosedDolce, Dolce Hotels, Dolce Hotels and Resorts, Dolce Hotels and Resorts by Wyndham$1,302,100 – $16,954,618Tapestry Collection by Hilton$2,861,047 – $70,253,147Super 8investment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

SureStay by Best Western® franchise — frequently asked

Who owns SureStay by Best Western® — who is the franchisor?

SureStay by Best Western®'s most recently filed FDD (2026) names SureStay, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for SureStay Collection by Best Western®. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a SureStay by Best Western® franchise cost?

SureStay by Best Western®'s most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $5,354,975 – $8,265,975, with an initial franchise fee of $35,000 and a 4% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against travel & hospitality peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $3,332,700).

How much profit does a SureStay by Best Western® franchise make?

SureStay by Best Western® makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for SureStay by Best Western® at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does SureStay by Best Western® disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — SureStay by Best Western®'s most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against SureStay by Best Western®?

SureStay by Best Western®'s most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses 8 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against SureStay by Best Western® itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 8 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is SureStay by Best Western® a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from SureStay by Best Western®'s numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against travel & hospitality peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching SureStay by Best Western®?

Get a free email when something changes on SureStay by Best Western® or travel & hospitality: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.