Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Southern Steer

Southern Steer franchise — is it worth it?

Food & beverage · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk

Southern Steer operates in the Food & Beverage category, requiring an initial investment between $1,101,169 and $2,364,529.

Everything below is free, read straight off Southern Steer's registered filing, with where the numbers land against food & beverage peers. Weighing Southern Steer against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$1,101,169 – $2,364,529
Bottom quartile for food & beverage · median $379,725
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Not determined
Item 3 not machine-read

Figures above are as disclosed in Southern Steer's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640233 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Southern Steer? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Southern Steer will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Southern Steer franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Southern Steer does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Southern Steer — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Southern Steer's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Food & beverage franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Southern Steer lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

We do not publish a litigation answer for Southern Steer. Item 3 could not be read reliably from this particular filing, and a claim that a company has no legal history is not one to make on a failed parse — so we say we do not know instead. Item 3 of the FDD itself is the place to check; the methodology page explains what we do and do not machine-read.

Southern Steer closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Southern Steer will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Southern Steer's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a food & beverage of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Southern Steer's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Southern Steer?

Southern Steer's franchise is offered by Southern Steer Franchising International, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Food & beverage franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Southern Steer is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Snowfruit$23,902 – $170,250Sticky Icky Funnel Cakes$194,900 – $364,000Stella's Ice Cream-Franchising$273,500 – $545,100 · Item 19 disclosedSomedays Bakery Franchising, LLC ( Somedays)$403,900 – $664,500King Coffee USA$1,176,500 – $1,517,000Denino's Pizzeria$873,100 – $1,848,600 · Item 19 disclosedNan Xiang Xiao Long Bao$1,180,000 – $1,894,0007 Brew$940,500 – $2,283,500 · Item 19 disclosedNeehee's Restaurant$1,662,000 – $2,053,000Honest Hospitality Group$1,507,000 – $2,334,000Laduree$1,694,158 – $2,167,658Bruster's Real Ice Cream$1,215,120 – $2,669,060 · Item 19 disclosed

Southern Steer franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Southern Steer — who is the franchisor?

Southern Steer's most recently filed FDD (2026) names Southern Steer Franchising International, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Southern Steer franchise cost?

Southern Steer's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $1,101,169 – $2,364,529. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against food & beverage peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $379,725).

How much profit does a Southern Steer franchise make?

Southern Steer makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Southern Steer at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Southern Steer disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Southern Steer's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Southern Steer?

We do not publish a litigation answer for Southern Steer: Item 3 could not be read reliably from this filing, and we would rather say so than assert a clean record we have not verified. Item 3 of the FDD itself is the place to check.

Is Southern Steer a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Southern Steer's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against food & beverage peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Southern Steer?

Get a free email when something changes on Southern Steer or food & beverage: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.