Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Onigilly Japanese Kitchen

Onigilly Japanese Kitchen franchise — is it worth it?

Food & beverage · FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

Medium risk

Onigilly Japanese Kitchen operates in the food & beverage sector, offering an investment range of $223,554 to $423,097.

Everything below is free, read straight off Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's registered filing, with where the numbers land against food & beverage peers. Weighing Onigilly Japanese Kitchen against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$223,554 – $423,097
Below the food & beverage median · median $379,725
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed

Figures above are as disclosed in Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-29405 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Onigilly Japanese Kitchen? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Onigilly Japanese Kitchen will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Onigilly Japanese Kitchen franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Onigilly Japanese Kitchen does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Onigilly Japanese Kitchen — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Food & beverage franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Onigilly Japanese Kitchen lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Onigilly Japanese Kitchen closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Onigilly Japanese Kitchen will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a food & beverage of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Onigilly Japanese Kitchen?

Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's franchise is offered by Onigilly Franchise LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Food & beverage franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Onigilly Japanese Kitchen is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Odd Burger (Area Representative)$69,600 – $355,300Old Ferry Donut$215,500 – $355,000Ubatuba Acai Bowls$199,500 – $436,000Rose Tea Lounge$276,384 – $362,220Gordo's Bubble Waffles$189,400 – $454,000 · Item 19 disclosedIsland Fin Poke$214,550 – $429,500 · Item 19 disclosedThe Dolly Llama$141,360 – $502,942Sip Fresh$233,660 – $420,760 · Item 19 disclosedAcai Republic The Brazilian Juice Bar$161,500 – $493,500I and S FR$262,300 – $395,350 · Item 19 disclosedOrange Leaf Frozen Yogurt$207,000 – $553,000 · Item 19 disclosedOrigami$544,500 – $1,681,500

Onigilly Japanese Kitchen franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Onigilly Japanese Kitchen — who is the franchisor?

Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's most recently filed FDD (2025) names Onigilly Franchise LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Onigilly Japanese Kitchen franchise cost?

Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $223,554 – $423,097 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against food & beverage peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $379,725).

How much profit does a Onigilly Japanese Kitchen franchise make?

Onigilly Japanese Kitchen makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Onigilly Japanese Kitchen at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Onigilly Japanese Kitchen disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Onigilly Japanese Kitchen?

No — Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Onigilly Japanese Kitchen a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Onigilly Japanese Kitchen's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against food & beverage peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Onigilly Japanese Kitchen?

Get a free email when something changes on Onigilly Japanese Kitchen or food & beverage: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.