Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Natural Awakenings

Natural Awakenings franchise — is it worth it?

Food & beverage · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk Shrinking network

Natural Awakenings is a food & beverage franchise with a relatively low initial investment of $59,550 to $86,275.

Everything below is free, read straight off Natural Awakenings's registered filing, with where the numbers land against food & beverage peers. Weighing Natural Awakenings against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$59,550 – $86,275
Top quartile for food & beverage · median $379,725
Initial franchise fee
$49,500
FDD Item 5
Royalty
14%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
0%
food & beverage median 3.3%
Outlet network
46 units
-1 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Natural Awakenings's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 32271-202408-06 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Natural Awakenings? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Natural Awakenings will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Natural Awakenings franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Natural Awakenings does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Natural Awakenings — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Natural Awakenings's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Food & beverage franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Natural Awakenings lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Natural Awakenings's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Natural Awakenings closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Natural Awakenings will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Natural Awakenings's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a food & beverage of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Natural Awakenings's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 0%, against a food & beverage median of 3.3% — at or better than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -1 to 46 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Natural Awakenings?

Natural Awakenings's franchise is offered by Natural Awakenings Publishing Corp — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Compare Natural Awakenings head-to-head

Natural Awakenings vs Circle K (Standard)cost · earnings · failure rateNatural Awakenings vs Genji Sushi Barscost · earnings · failure rate

Food & beverage franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Natural Awakenings is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Meals of Hope$61,050 – $71,925 · Item 19 disclosedAce Sushi$18,275 – $119,650Ace Sushi$18,275 – $125,575Pada Food$43,100 – $101,350Ace Sushi (Non-Traditional)$18,275 – $127,650Waikomo Shave Ice$36,470 – $119,150 · Item 19 disclosedFreshly Go$27,523 – $132,141Delicious Sushi$25,649 – $134,629Nathan's Branded Menu Program$56,510 – $202,180Nathan's Famous Branded Menu Program Operations$56,510 – $202,180Natural Life CBD.Kratom.Kava$192,830 – $308,700 · Item 19 disclosedNeehee's Restaurant$1,662,000 – $2,053,000

Natural Awakenings franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Natural Awakenings — who is the franchisor?

Natural Awakenings's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Natural Awakenings Publishing Corp as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Natural Awakenings franchise cost?

Natural Awakenings's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $59,550 – $86,275, with an initial franchise fee of $49,500 and a 14% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against food & beverage peers it sits in the top quartile (median $379,725).

How much profit does a Natural Awakenings franchise make?

Natural Awakenings makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Natural Awakenings at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Natural Awakenings disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Natural Awakenings's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Natural Awakenings?

No — Natural Awakenings's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Natural Awakenings a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Natural Awakenings's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against food & beverage peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Natural Awakenings?

Get a free email when something changes on Natural Awakenings or food & beverage: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.