Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Miss USA

Miss USA franchise — is it worth it?

Other · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk Stable network

'Miss USA' is a brand in the 'Other' category with a broad investment range from $25,340 to $1,261,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off Miss USA's registered filing, with where the numbers land against other peers. Weighing Miss USA against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$25,340 – $1,261,000
Bottom quartile for other · median $227,750
Initial franchise fee
$840
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
7.8%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
51 units
flat last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Miss USA's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-28744 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Miss USA? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Miss USA will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Miss USA franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Miss USA does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Miss USA — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn Miss USA's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Miss USA lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Miss USA's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Miss USA closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Miss USA will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Miss USA's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a other of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Miss USA's latest tables show a stable franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 7.8%. Net franchised outlets moved 0 to 51 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Miss USA?

Miss USA's franchise is offered by JKN Universe, LLC (Miss USA Program) — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Miss USA is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Mobiledumps$61,640 – $210,100Miniso$320,800 – $467,500Miss Universe$24,340 – $1,216,000Superior Walls$505,000 – $745,000 · Item 19 disclosedCurry Up$312,400 – $940,200Ori'Zaba's Franchise Operations$413,195 – $854,610Facialworks$435,600 – $853,700 · Item 19 disclosedThe Now$476,459 – $813,109 · Item 19 disclosedVaVia$436,049 – $857,992 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-TEXTILES$358,200 – $939,000 · Item 19 disclosedLviv Croissants$299,500 – $1,006,500Mobile Franchise Services LLC (Mobile Franchise)investment not disclosed

Miss USA franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Miss USA — who is the franchisor?

Miss USA's most recently filed FDD (2024) names JKN Universe, LLC (Miss USA Program) as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Miss USA franchise cost?

Miss USA's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $25,340 – $1,261,000, with an initial franchise fee of $840. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against other peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $227,750).

How much profit does a Miss USA franchise make?

Miss USA makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Miss USA at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Miss USA disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Miss USA's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against Miss USA?

No — Miss USA's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Miss USA a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Miss USA's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against other peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Miss USA?

Get a free email when something changes on Miss USA or other: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.