Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Membership Hotel Organization

Membership Hotel Organization franchise — is it worth it?

Travel & hospitality · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk Stable network

MHO Hotels is a travel and hospitality brand with a relatively small but stable network of 32 outlets.

Everything below is free, read straight off Membership Hotel Organization's registered filing, with where the numbers land against travel & hospitality peers. Weighing Membership Hotel Organization against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$58,900 – $1,247,995
Below the travel & hospitality median · median $3,332,700
Initial franchise fee
$9,995
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Outlet network
32 units
flat last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Membership Hotel Organization's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-28577 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Membership Hotel Organization? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Membership Hotel Organization will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Membership Hotel Organization franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Membership Hotel Organization does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Membership Hotel Organization — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Membership Hotel Organization's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Hotel, travel & hospitality franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Membership Hotel Organization lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Membership Hotel Organization's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Membership Hotel Organization closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Membership Hotel Organization will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Membership Hotel Organization's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a travel & hospitality of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Membership Hotel Organization's latest tables show a stable franchised network. Net franchised outlets moved 0 to 32 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Membership Hotel Organization?

Membership Hotel Organization's franchise is offered by Membership Hotel Organization, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

Membership Hotel Organizationsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Travel & hospitality franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Membership Hotel Organization is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

WaterWalk Apartments$25,000 – $500,000Wyndham Grand$193,116 – $359,142 · Item 19 disclosedMagnuson Hotels$175,000 – $400,000Scottish Inn, Red Carpet Inn, Master Host Inn$134,195 – $531,295StayAPT$400,000 – $550,000 · Item 19 disclosedNautical Boat Club$396,700 – $697,000 · Item 19 disclosedCasago$23,000 – $1,287,000The Red Collection$222,875 – $1,611,250Affordable Suites of America$193,100 – $1,765,100 · Item 19 disclosedMargaritaville Hotels & Resortsinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedMGallery Hotel Collectioninvestment not disclosed

Membership Hotel Organization franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Membership Hotel Organization — who is the franchisor?

Membership Hotel Organization's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Membership Hotel Organization, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for Membership Hotel Organization. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Membership Hotel Organization franchise cost?

Membership Hotel Organization's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $58,900 – $1,247,995, with an initial franchise fee of $9,995. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against travel & hospitality peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $3,332,700).

How much profit does a Membership Hotel Organization franchise make?

Membership Hotel Organization makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Membership Hotel Organization at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Membership Hotel Organization disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Membership Hotel Organization's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Membership Hotel Organization?

No — Membership Hotel Organization's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Membership Hotel Organization a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Membership Hotel Organization's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against travel & hospitality peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Membership Hotel Organization?

Get a free email when something changes on Membership Hotel Organization or travel & hospitality: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.