Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs

Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk Item 19 disclosed

Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs is a quick-service restaurant franchise with a disclosed average annual gross sales of $872,531 from 316 units.

Everything below is free, read straight off Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs's registered filing. Weighing Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$25,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5.5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
$872,531
avg unit revenue, as disclosed
Litigation (Item 3)
Not determined
Item 3 not machine-read

Figures above are as disclosed in Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-27267 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs franchise make?

Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure is $872,531 in average unit revenue — read it alongside what Item 19 says about which units it covers (often only mature or top-performing locations). See every quick-service restaurant brand that discloses earnings in the Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs's 5.5% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure. On $872,531 of revenue, a 5.5% royalty alone is about $47,989 a year before any other cost.

Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

We do not publish a litigation answer for Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs. Item 3 could not be read reliably from this particular filing, and a claim that a company has no legal history is not one to make on a failed parse — so we say we do not know instead. Item 3 of the FDD itself is the place to check; the methodology page explains what we do and do not machine-read.

Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs?

Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs's franchise is offered by Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other quick-service restaurant franchises

Anyone weighing Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Al-Hamra$165,850 – $291,750Hummus Republic$227,500 – $659,000 · Item 19 disclosedA.b.'s Smokehouse$382,000 – $678,000Adamson's (Unit)$318,900 – $787,720 · Item 19 disclosedAbu Omar Halal$362,100 – $797,000 · Item 19 disclosedIan's Pizza United$380,000 – $850,000Hummus Cafe$410,150 – $994,500 · Item 19 disclosedAfuri Ramen + Dumpling$591,000 – $1,153,0005 Tacos and Beers$764,500 – $1,527,000 · Item 19 disclosedA&W; A&W Restaurants; A&W All American Food$894,130 – $1,640,034 · Item 19 disclosedAl Manakeeshinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedIdus USAinvestment not disclosed

Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs — who is the franchisor?

Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs franchise cost?

Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $25,000 and a 5.5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs franchise make?

Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (5.5% of gross for Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate. The headline figure Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs discloses is $872,531 in average unit revenue.

Does Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure is $872,531 in average unit revenue, as the franchisor states it.

Are there lawsuits against Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs?

We do not publish a litigation answer for Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs: Item 3 could not be read reliably from this filing, and we would rather say so than assert a clean record we have not verified. Item 3 of the FDD itself is the place to check.

Is Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs?

Get a free email when something changes on Hungry Howie's Pizza + Subs or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.