Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Dot and Dough

Dot and Dough franchise — is it worth it?

Food & beverage · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk Growing network

Dot and Dough Franchise, Inc.

Everything below is free, read straight off Dot and Dough's registered filing. Weighing Dot and Dough against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$35,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Outlet network
5 units
+4 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Dot and Dough's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-29052 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Dot and Dough? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Dot and Dough will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Dot and Dough franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Dot and Dough does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Dot and Dough — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Dot and Dough's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Food & beverage franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Dot and Dough lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Dot and Dough's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Dot and Dough closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Dot and Dough will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Dot and Dough's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a food & beverage of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Dot and Dough's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Net franchised outlets moved +4 to 5 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Dot and Dough?

Dot and Dough's franchise is offered by Dot and Dough Franchise, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other food & beverage franchises

Anyone weighing Dot and Dough is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Dumont Creamery and Café$147,500 – $291,000Aboutea Co. (Unit)$157,000 – $314,0007 Leaves Cafe$244,000 – $490,000Aboutea Co. (Master)$345,000 – $399,00016 Handles$242,500 – $553,000 · Item 19 disclosedDQ® Treat$548,700 – $1,595,350Abbott's Frozen Custard$439,600 – $1,778,000 · Item 19 disclosed7 Brew$940,500 – $2,283,500 · Item 19 disclosed810 Entertainment$2,941,500 – $4,967,000 · Item 19 disclosed7-Eleveninvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedDoc Popcorninvestment not disclosedDogs & Creaminvestment not disclosed

Dot and Dough franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Dot and Dough — who is the franchisor?

Dot and Dough's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Dot and Dough Franchise, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Dot and Dough franchise cost?

Dot and Dough's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $35,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Dot and Dough franchise make?

Dot and Dough makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Dot and Dough at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Dot and Dough disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Dot and Dough's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Dot and Dough?

No — Dot and Dough's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Dot and Dough a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Dot and Dough's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against food & beverage peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Dot and Dough?

Get a free email when something changes on Dot and Dough or food & beverage: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.