Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Burros & Fries

Burros & Fries franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

Medium risk Shrinking network

Burros & Fries is a quick-service restaurant concept with an investment range of $600,000 to $913,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off Burros & Fries's registered filing, with where the numbers land against quick-service restaurant peers. Weighing Burros & Fries against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$600,000 – $913,000
Above the quick-service restaurant median · median $604,609
Initial franchise fee
$35,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
1 case
in Item 3
Outlet network
4 units
-28 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Burros & Fries's most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-33530 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Burros & Fries? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Burros & Fries will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Burros & Fries franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Burros & Fries does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Burros & Fries — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Burros & Fries's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Burros & Fries lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Burros & Fries's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) does disclose 1 legal proceeding in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Burros & Fries itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Burros & Fries closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Burros & Fries will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Burros & Fries's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Burros & Fries's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Net franchised outlets moved -28 to 4 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Burros & Fries?

Burros & Fries's franchise is offered by BURROS FRIES FRANCHISE, INC. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Quick-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Burros & Fries is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Capital Tacos$211,200 – $447,200 · Item 19 disclosedCan Am Pizza$300,000 – $400,000Burger Exotic Village$483,500 – $801,500Firehouse Subs® Restaurant$405,350 – $1,087,050 · Item 19 disclosedBeef-a-Roo$526,700 – $973,000 · Item 19 disclosedMcAlister's Deli$500,000 – $1,000,000 · Item 19 disclosedArby's$644,950 – $861,950Fresh Brothers$493,650 – $1,018,500Capriotti's Sandwich Shop and$594,700 – $935,000 · Item 19 disclosedKyochon, Kyochon Chicken, Kyochon 1991$493,500 – $1,038,500Silverlake Ramen Japanese Noodle Bar Restaurant$555,850 – $979,950 · Item 19 disclosedBurger King$2,249,200 – $3,320,600 · Item 19 disclosed

Burros & Fries franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Burros & Fries — who is the franchisor?

Burros & Fries's most recently filed FDD (2025) names BURROS FRIES FRANCHISE, INC. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Burros & Fries franchise cost?

Burros & Fries's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $600,000 – $913,000, with an initial franchise fee of $35,000 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against quick-service restaurant peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $604,609).

How much profit does a Burros & Fries franchise make?

Burros & Fries makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Burros & Fries at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Burros & Fries disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Burros & Fries's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Burros & Fries?

Burros & Fries's most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses 1 legal proceeding in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Burros & Fries itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Burros & Fries a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Burros & Fries's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Burros & Fries?

Get a free email when something changes on Burros & Fries or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.