Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Ace Hardware Painting Services

Ace Hardware Painting Services franchise — is it worth it?

Home services · FDD-based assessment · registered 2023

High risk No franchised units open yet

Ace Hardware Painting Services is a home services franchise with an initial investment ranging from $89,030 to $148,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off Ace Hardware Painting Services's registered filing, with where the numbers land against home services peers. Weighing Ace Hardware Painting Services against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$89,030 – $148,000
Top quartile for home services · median $162,725
Initial franchise fee
$50,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
5 cases
in Item 3

Figures above are as disclosed in Ace Hardware Painting Services's most recent FDD (registered 2023). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-27134 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Ace Hardware Painting Services? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Ace Hardware Painting Services will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Ace Hardware Painting Services franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Ace Hardware Painting Services does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Ace Hardware Painting Services — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (77% of home services franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Ace Hardware Painting Services's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Home services & home improvement franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Ace Hardware Painting Services lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Ace Hardware Painting Services's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2023) does disclose 5 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Ace Hardware Painting Services itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 3 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Ace Hardware Painting Services closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Ace Hardware Painting Services will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Ace Hardware Painting Services's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a home services of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Ace Hardware Painting Services reports no franchised units open yet — there is no operating track record to churn.

Who owns Ace Hardware Painting Services?

Ace Hardware Painting Services's franchise is offered by Ace Painting Franchising, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2023), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Home services franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Ace Hardware Painting Services is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Pool Scouts$96,662 – $133,787 · Item 19 disclosedThat 1 Painter$96,500 – $137,000 · Item 19 disclosedPillar To Post, Inc. (Non Exclusive Territory)$101,740 – $132,490 · Item 19 disclosedNon-Exclusive Territory$102,690 – $134,290 · Item 19 disclosedPuddle Pool Services USA$101,800 – $135,700 · Item 19 disclosedClozetivity$81,500 – $157,500 · Item 19 disclosedKitset Assembly Services$95,700 – $146,050FlyFoe$74,545 – $169,545Ace Handyman Services$132,200 – $226,000 · Item 19 disclosedAire Serv$113,808 – $271,708 · Item 19 disclosedAccurate Leak and Line$133,700 – $285,150 · Item 19 disclosedADD Franchising, Inc. (Allied Disaster Defense )investment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Ace Hardware Painting Services franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Ace Hardware Painting Services — who is the franchisor?

Ace Hardware Painting Services's most recently filed FDD (2023) names Ace Painting Franchising, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Ace Hardware Painting Services franchise cost?

Ace Hardware Painting Services's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $89,030 – $148,000, with an initial franchise fee of $50,000 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against home services peers it sits in the top quartile (median $162,725).

How much profit does a Ace Hardware Painting Services franchise make?

Ace Hardware Painting Services makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Ace Hardware Painting Services at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Ace Hardware Painting Services disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Ace Hardware Painting Services's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 77% of home services franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Ace Hardware Painting Services?

Ace Hardware Painting Services's most recently filed FDD (2023) discloses 5 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Ace Hardware Painting Services itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 3 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is Ace Hardware Painting Services a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Ace Hardware Painting Services's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against home services peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Ace Hardware Painting Services?

Get a free email when something changes on Ace Hardware Painting Services or home services: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.