Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → compare → Smartstyle vs Buff City Soap

Smartstyle vs Buff City Soap

Beauty & personal care · head-to-head from each brand's most recent FDD

Two beauty & personal care franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.

SmartstyleBuff City Soap
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
$184,440 – $336,340 $383,292 – $956,024
Initial franchise fee
FDD Item 5
$39,500 —
Royalty
FDD Item 6
— 6%
Item 19 earnings disclosed
FDD Item 19
Not disclosed Yes
Avg unit revenue (headline)
FDD Item 19
— $422,306
Franchised outlets
FDD Item 20
911 222
Net outlet change (latest yr)
FDD Item 20
-166 -29
Closure rate
FDD Item 20
4.3% —
Franchisee lawsuits
FDD Item 3
disclosed —
Risk level
our read
High Medium
FDD year
registration
2025 2026

Are Smartstyle and Buff City Soap the same company?

No — Smartstyle and Buff City Soap are franchised by separate companies. Smartstyle's franchisor is THE BARBERS, HAIRSTYLING FOR MEN & WOMEN, INC.; Buff City Soap's is BUFF CITY SOAP FRANCHISING, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

Cost to open

Smartstyle is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $184,440 – $336,340, against $383,292 – $956,024 for Buff City Soap.

How much does each make? (Item 19)

Only Buff City Soap disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $422,306), while Smartstyle's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Closures & failure rate

Smartstyle reports 911 franchised outlets, net change -166 in the latest reported year, a 4.3% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Buff City Soap reports 222 franchised outlets, net change -29 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate.

Litigation

Smartstyle discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there). Buff City Soap's Item 3 could not be read from its filing, so we make no claim either way.

Free · no obligation

Deciding between Smartstyle and Buff City Soap?

See what else fits before you choose. Tell us your budget and state and we'll send you the 5–10 beauty & personal care franchises (or any industries you pick) with the strongest FDD record for it.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Smartstyle vs Buff City Soap — frequently asked

Are Smartstyle and Buff City Soap the same company?

No — Smartstyle and Buff City Soap are franchised by separate companies. Smartstyle's franchisor is THE BARBERS, HAIRSTYLING FOR MEN & WOMEN, INC.; Buff City Soap's is BUFF CITY SOAP FRANCHISING, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

What is the difference between Smartstyle and Buff City Soap?

Smartstyle and Buff City Soap are beauty & personal care franchises from different franchisors (THE BARBERS, HAIRSTYLING FOR MEN & WOMEN, INC. and BUFF CITY SOAP FRANCHISING, LLC). Smartstyle is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $184,440 – $336,340, against $383,292 – $956,024 for Buff City Soap. Only Buff City Soap disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $422,306), while Smartstyle's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Is Smartstyle more profitable than Buff City Soap?

Only Buff City Soap disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $422,306), while Smartstyle's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Which is cheaper to open — Smartstyle or Buff City Soap?

Smartstyle is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $184,440 – $336,340, against $383,292 – $956,024 for Buff City Soap.

Is Smartstyle or Buff City Soap growing faster?

Smartstyle reports 911 franchised outlets, net change -166 in the latest reported year, a 4.3% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Buff City Soap reports 222 franchised outlets, net change -29 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20).

Go deeper on each brand

Smartstyle franchise facts$184,440 – $336,340 · high risk Buff City Soap franchise facts$383,292 – $956,024 · medium risk

Beauty & personal care rankings

Best salon, beauty & personal care franchises by the FDD numbersCheapest salon, beauty & personal care franchises to openFastest-growing salon, beauty & personal care franchisesLowest-churn salon, beauty & personal care franchisesLowest-royalty salon, beauty & personal care franchisesSalon, beauty & personal care franchises ranked by average revenueSalon, beauty & personal care franchises with disclosed Item 19 earningsSalon, beauty & personal care franchises with the most franchisee lawsuits

Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Smartstyle 2025, Buff City Soap 2026). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.