Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → The Inspection Boys

The Inspection Boys franchise — is it worth it?

Home services · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk

The Inspection Boys operates in the home services category with a notably high royalty fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off The Inspection Boys's registered filing. Weighing The Inspection Boys against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
50%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3

Figures above are as disclosed in The Inspection Boys's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-31402 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering The Inspection Boys? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. The Inspection Boys will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

The Inspection Boys franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: The Inspection Boys does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for The Inspection Boys — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (77% of home services franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn The Inspection Boys's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Home services & home improvement franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

The Inspection Boys lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

The Inspection Boys's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against The Inspection Boys itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

The Inspection Boys closures & failure rate

Before you sign, The Inspection Boys will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what The Inspection Boys's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a home services of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. The Inspection Boys's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns The Inspection Boys?

The Inspection Boys's franchise is offered by The Inspection Boys Franchise USA LLC (Area Representative) — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other home services franchises

Anyone weighing The Inspection Boys is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

The Grout Expert$23,550 – $49,000The Inspection Boys Franchise USA (Unit)$51,100 – $61,7503 Day Kitchen & Bath$115,600 – $158,768 · Item 19 disclosedThe Grout Medic$161,600 – $223,000 · Item 19 disclosedThe Junkluggers$96,010 – $359,160 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-GOT-JUNK?$182,300 – $294,000 · Item 19 disclosed101 Mobility$196,000 – $281,100 · Item 19 disclosed76 Fence$165,600 – $315,700 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-Plumber$179,210 – $345,700 · Item 19 disclosed1 Tom Plumber$238,307 – $454,248 · Item 19 disclosed76 Fence (Regional Developer)$279,407 – $463,3891-800 Striperinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

The Inspection Boys franchise — frequently asked

Who owns The Inspection Boys — who is the franchisor?

The Inspection Boys's most recently filed FDD (2024) names The Inspection Boys Franchise USA LLC (Area Representative) as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a The Inspection Boys franchise cost?

The Inspection Boys's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7 and a 50% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a The Inspection Boys franchise make?

The Inspection Boys makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for The Inspection Boys at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does The Inspection Boys disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — The Inspection Boys's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 77% of home services franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against The Inspection Boys?

The Inspection Boys's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against The Inspection Boys itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is The Inspection Boys a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from The Inspection Boys's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against home services peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching The Inspection Boys?

Get a free email when something changes on The Inspection Boys or home services: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.